365 days of new: a birthday commitment

IMG_0104

 

Life has become stagnant again. It’s crazy. I live in Thailand, but I guess no matter where you run, bam, you are confronted with the same chance of getting stuck in the ordinary. We all feel it; a boredom with our social circle, the nightlife we frequent, the conversations we have, the streets we walk down, the daily sights we see, the foods we eat…. We are a culture of creature comfort, of schedules, of familiarity, so getting stuck in these ruts is quite easy. However, I moved to Thailand to escape all of the everyday monotony, and guess what? After 9 months even Asia has become ‘same same.’

I wrote a blog post before entitled ‘if you’re bored you’re boring.’ Possibly a little harsh, but I think the idea is completely true. In it’s essence, it is a reminder to myself that I have the power to make any situation, any environment exactly what I want it to be.

I don’t think it takes much, you don’t have to jump out of a plane or force yourself to eat bugs. You simply have to take a new route home, strike up a conversation with someone you have never really chatted with (even though you work together), or decided to whip out your charcoals and draw instead of hoping on your computer. I guess before I came to Thailand I thought it was the big leaps of faith that were the most important so I was complacent while I waited for these big life changes to take place- ready to throw my energy their way when they finally arrived. Now I think it’s the daily ways in which I shake it up that matter most, because at the end of the day what I am doing today is what I am doing with my life.

Tomorrow is my 23rd birthday and instead of making a wish I am deciding to make a commitment. A commitment to myself to do something every single day that I have never done before. It might take energy at times, courage, self-confidence, or a wee bit of motivation, but 23 only happens once so why not make it memorable. I’ll be recording the list here, under the new page ‘Shake Señora’ to help keep me on track. Care to join? I would be thrilled, start your own list and throw some of the highlights my way!

 

